Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

th_mhmn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 11, 2021
I'm a web developer and it's my first time getting a macbook.
I usually open browser, an IDE and maybe photo editing stuff and some music player at the same time.
I'm planning to get a new 16" MBP 2021, and I have some questions:
I can't decide between 16GBs of RAM or 32GBs of RAM; 16GB is enough for me for 2,3 years, but I'm not sure about one thing: "Should I get a macbook for 7-8 years of usage in the future, or get a cheaper one for a shorter future?"
From one side, I think that It's expensive and I should get one to use for longer time, but on the other side, there will be some new features and faster technologies in the newer models of laptops; so should I consider getting 2021 macbook pros for 7-8 years? Can M1 Pro chips be good enough in next 8 years from now?
Help me please, this has made me crazy for a long time!

Reactions: Jára Tyky

th_mhmn

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 11, 2021
I sold my 2019 i9 MacBook pro recently. It was two years old and frustratingly slower than my m1 air. I expect to upgrade again in 2023.
So you say it's better to save money for new laptop in the future?

velocityg4

macrumors 604
Dec 19, 2004
Georgia
I usually open browser, an IDE and maybe photo editing stuff and some music player at the same time.
I can't decide between 16GBs of RAM or 32GBs of RAM; 16GB is enough for me for 2,3 years, but I'm not sure about one thing: "Should I get a macbook for 7-8 years of usage in the future, or get a cheaper one for a shorter future?"
From one side, I think that It's expensive and I should get one to use for longer time, but on the other side, there will be some new features and faster technologies in the newer models of laptops; so should I consider getting 2021 macbook pros for 7-8 years? Can M1 Pro chips be good enough in next 8 years from now?