Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

doc4x5

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 15, 2008
the great Pacific northwest
I am a photographer currently using a 2020 27" iMac with an i9, 64GB RAM, and 4TB SSD. My final files are around a gigabyte. I use an OWC Thunderbay as a RAID 5 with three 16GB hard drives to store my approximately 100,000 images. I work extensively in both Lightroom Classic and Photoshop. I do NO VIDEO. My monitor is an NEC PA271 calibrated with Spectraview.

I am considering a Mac Studio M2. My question is whether it would be significantly faster than my current machine and if so, how I should configure it.

Questions include:
1. M2 Max or M2 Ultra?
2. How many GPU cores? It appears that with the Max, the $200 for the extra 8 cores is likely not worth it.
3. RAM?-I've been happy with 64GB. To get 96 I'd need the extra 8 cores or the Ultra.
4. SSD? I like having 4TB but might I get away with less? I am currently using about 1.5TB on my 4TB SSD (all photo files are stored externally)

Thanks for any help on this.
Best,
Eric

Last edited:

Feek

macrumors 65816
Nov 9, 2009
JO01
I am considering a Mac Studio M2. My question is whether it would be significantly faster than my current machine and if so, how I should configure it.
At the very basic level, pretty much any Apple Silicon equipped Mac will be significantly faster than your current machine.

I'm not the ideal person to ask about spec because I just tend to buy the highest spec I can afford, whether I need it or not.

DLary

macrumors regular
Oct 21, 2005