Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mirandag

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 15, 2009
I am a wedding photographer, currently editing on a PC, but wanting to change to a more portable option. My hubby has his own computer business and hates Mac's and trying to talk me into a top of the range 17" toshiba laptop. Everything I read in regards to photography leans towards a Mac pro. Hubby thinks i can get equal quality and more quantity for half the price? Does anyone have any feed back on pro's or cons for either?? All advice greatly appriciated

ceezy3000

macrumors 6502
Jan 10, 2009
The Valley!!
for photoshop you can get same quality on a pc but heres what you wont get with a pc:1. you wont be worry free about viruses, theyll alaways be lurking around forcing you t run virus scans daily 2. you wont get greatness of applecare, with apple you have the convenience of being able to take your computer into a store and have it fixed, with pcs you have to call them then some indian guy answers whom u can barely understand, then they have to pick it up, then they give it back to u, the whole thing would be an ordeal 3.macs are just plain cool. also you dont need a mac pro, i run photoshop fine on my macbook

Phil A.

Moderator emeritus
Apr 2, 2006
Shropshire, UK
Wirelessly posted (iPod touch 32GB: Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11a Safari/525.20)

If you are currently using a PC with photoshop, you need to bear in mind that you will need to crossgrade your license. It doesn't cost much but will mean you will lose the ability to run on a PC: whilst the photoshop license lets you run it on two machines they have to be both Windows or both OS X.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
2. you wont get greatness of applecare....