Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Lastgreen

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 19, 2017
Hey guys i was just wondering how advantageous it is to get the macbook pro with touch bar versus the non touch bar.. I understand that a lot of users find the touch bar useless but what about the added benefits... I read that the touch bar model has a stronger wifi receiver, 2 fans (which would mean less thermal throttling?), faster cpu 3.1 ghz.
Are these differences worth the price gap? Im a medical student and i plan to do web browsing, word document, power points, watching videos and maybe but not always a little light gaming (league of legends)

Gaelic83

macrumors newbie
Feb 4, 2017
Hey guys i was just wondering how advantageous it is to get the macbook pro with touch bar versus the non touch bar.. I understand that a lot of users find the touch bar useless but what about the added benefits... I read that the touch bar model has a stronger wifi receiver, 2 fans (which would mean less thermal throttling?), faster cpu 3.1 ghz.
Are these differences worth the price gap? Im a medical student and i plan to do web browsing, word document, power points, watching videos and maybe but not always a little light gaming (league of legends)

adamh10

macrumors member
Mar 20, 2009
Bradford, ON, Canada
I assume you are only looking at the 13-inch model if you're comparing TB vs non-TB, yes?