Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

apostolosdt

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 29, 2021
Prompted by other threads here, I am considering running my MP 6,1 and Mini 2014 exclusively on Linux or Windows 10/11. (I also have an MP 5,1, 12-core, etc, but at present, I have put it on sale.) When I compare them to my Studio M1 Max and Mini M1, I am shocked--the contrast in their performance is stunning! At present, I run Linus/Windows via Parallels; no complaints, except the limits in resources' use.

Now, I hesitate a bit, for I am not that good at the required technicalities. I guess a complete non-macOS installation is the best solution; is the next best via BootCamp? I am completely open to suggestions, but I will do my reading, of course.

throAU

macrumors G3
Feb 13, 2012
Perth, Western Australia
Now, I hesitate a bit, for I am not that good at the required technicalities. I guess a complete non-macOS installation is the best solution; is the next best via BootCamp? I am completely open to suggestions, but I will do my reading, of course.

What are you going to use the machine for? Giving up macOS gives up basically everything that makes that machine what it is, save for the shiny cylinder styling.

If all you care about for this machine is keeping the hardware alive and like the cylinder - that's fine. Just know what you'll lose.

Be aware that much like macOS, Windows will drop support for the Mac Pro 6,1 hardware real soon. For non-enterprise installs Windows 10 is end of life at end of June (from memory), for enterprise I think it's 2025. So that means if you want an OS with security updates and continued software support - beyond 2-12 months, Linux is your only viable option.

the Ivy Bridge era CPU in the machine is "not supported" by Windows 11. You can maybe force it to install but microsoft have indicated that they are not going to care about patches breaking it in the future.