Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MrWoppit

Suspended
Original poster
Feb 22, 2020
Hey Friends!

I have little to no experience with AirTags, although I put them in all my vehicles in case one would ever get stolen.

Wednesday around Noon I parked my car, and at 3pm discovered it was stolen. The AirTag shows a location at an intersection and says “Last Seen at 12:45PM” and hasn’t updated since.

I’ve spent a couple hours driving that area it was “Last Seen” and cannot locate my vehicle.

-Police report made
-Have been watching the Find My app since it was stolen and there have been no updates.

What would you suspect the reason is for it not updating?
How often would the AirTag have updated while the thief was driving it?
If the car was ditched on a side street, would it update its location if somebody walks by it?
Should I put the AirTag in Lost Mode?
What would you do in this situation?

IMG_0474.png

Attachments

• IMG_0473.png
    IMG_0473.png
    4.4 MB · Views: 161
Last edited:

Rkuda

macrumors regular
May 23, 2016
Yeah, most likely the AirTag was found and destroyed. Apple has had to make changes to how AirTags work since their release because of bad PR where people have used them to track/stalk people so if the thief had an iPhone with them they would get a notification on their phone about a nearby AirTag.

The AirTag can't connect to the internet on it's own so the location will get updated periodically when someone's iPhone detects it and after that the location will be updated.

Alternatively to the AirTag being destroyed it could just be somewhere where no iPhone was close enough to detect it and still maybe show up at a later date.

As far as lost mode, you may not want to enable it as the thief could potentially get your phone number or email through the notification:

What Happens When You Turn On Lost Mode for an AirTag?​