Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wakerider017

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 20, 2006
US of A
First off let me say I know hardly anything about cameras, but I would really like to get into it. I take lots of pictures with my point n'shoot and I am getting pretty sick of that thing... I want more control than what my existing camera (Kodak easyshare) offers. I am even more lost when it comes to lenses. I have no idea what I am looking at when it comes to glass.

Looking at Canon and Nikon... Not sure if it is a good idea to get the kit or buy the body seperate and buy a different lens.

I will say that I am a college student and am on a limited budget. So I would like to have 1 lens that I could use for everything for the time being. (I am having to sell some of my older toys on ebay to be able to afford this camera).

D40 is out because I would like to be able to work with more MP than that. (A lot of the time I find my self cropping and image way down and I want the quality to still be there.)

XTi seems pretty nice. A lot of people seem to like it.

D60? Don't know much about it??

I guess my budget is around $600, although I wouldn't mind going cheaper.

Dell had a XTi Kit for under $500 a few weeks ago that I missed. If that comes around again is that something I want to buy?

Any help is appreciated!

tony-in-japan

macrumors regular
Jan 13, 2008
Saitama, Japan
Just posted this on another thread, but here is a good recommendation...

To offer you options other than the typical Canon or Nikon, there will be an new Olympus E-420 released in May. It is the smallest DSLR in the world (and very light too) with 10MP, Live View and Dust Reduction. Also, it fits in nicely within your budget. I think it is the best value DSLR available with the lens kit (apparently the kit lens is excellent).