Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Soma 115

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 11, 2008
the Chi
Alright, i know you guys have probably been over this a million+ times, but i searched it and couldn't find anything. I'm new to DSLR, yet have dabbled in SLR. I am looking to buy one of those cameras very soon (maybe tomorrow). So heres where you guys come in, which camera do you think would give me the most bang for my buck?? The only reason I'm keeping the Sony A200 in mind is that it has a considerable amount more MP's than the D40. Also I already own some autofocus Nikon lenses, would i be able to use the nikon lenses on the A200?(with an adapter or something?).

Thanks in advance.
Any help is greatly appreciated!

-Dillon

futuremac

macrumors member
Jun 2, 2008
Melbourne, Australia
I think the D40 is the best beginners DSLR. There are excellent guides available for the D40 if needed. Put the money you save on this cam towards some accessories. The mistake some novices make is they buy a more expensive camera because they are afraid they will get "beginner quality" images. This is not so true in the SLR world as with point-n-shoot. With an SLR to get better pictures you need to buy better lenses or buy a full frame SLR(thousands of dollars).

If I was going to recommend a D40 beginners package, at minimum it would include:

Nikon D40 18-55 kit.
Nikon SB-400 Speedlight flash
Bag (The LOWEPRO Off Trail 1 is excellent)
Hoya Super HMC UV filter 52mm
4GB+ SD card

In the future you may want to add:
Nikon ML-L3 remote
Tripod (If you have a video tripod you can use that)
Nikkor 50mm lens
Nikkor 55-200 VR lens