Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

uaecasher

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 29, 2009
Stillwater, OK
Hello,

I'm new to photography and i want to buy a DSLR but I'm not sure which brand to chose Nikon or Canon.

here is my needs:

i need a good image quality camera (12 MP)

i need a camera that is good with capturing moving parts.

I'm not considering photography as professional job but more as serious hobby.

I need it to have HD video mode like (Nikon D90)

with my budget ($1000 ~ $1500) i found the Nikon D90 best for me, but i want to take you thoughts about my chose as i see a real pros here :D

thank you

TuffLuffJimmy

macrumors G3
Apr 6, 2007
Portland, OR
i need a good image quality camera (12 MP)
The megapixel count has little to do with image quality.

i need a camera that is good with capturing moving parts.
Then you need good glass, most DSLRs in each price range are about the same.

with my budget ($1000 ~ $1500) i found the Nikon D90 best for me, but i want to take you thoughts about my chose as i see a real pros here :D

You really should be investing in good glass. Your camera will last you a few years, while glass, if kept properly, will last you a lifetime. So if you're set on the Nikon then what glass do you want to use with it? Really you don't buy a camera, you buy into a system. Thus you should be looking at all the parts that you will want to purchase, before you start to look at cameras.

adrianblaine

macrumors 65816
Oct 12, 2006
Pasadena, CA