Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

1969tgb

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 29, 2024
Hi!

I have an Early 2015 MBP with the i5, 16G of RAM and now a 1TB Mac SSD.

Short story long... I bought my MBP with a 512G SSD back in 2015/16- and it was seemingly getting slower and slower, sometimes just hosing up for no reason and then sometime kind of stopping during restarts- I started getting worried about it dying so last year I got an M2 MBA- and it's fantastic! But RIGHT after that, I walked into a low use 1TB Mac/Samsung SSD. So without being worried about it losing all my stuff- I feel free to play with it- I removed the horrible sluffing-off anti-glare coating on the display, replaced the battery, swapped SSDs, imaged it up, did the OCLP Sonoma image- but it really seemed pokey, so I reimaged it to Monterey and it's... ...fine. I mostly just use it for internetting and photo scanning.

I realize that even middling NVME drives are faster than the OEM Mac Samsung drives, but I've read of kernel panics happening on wakeup and I'm wondering if the read/write speed difference would even be noticeable or remotely "worth it" for a secondary computer.

Thanks!

Brian33

macrumors 65816
Apr 30, 2008
USA (Virginia)
Just my opinion, but if it were me, I'd stick with the OEM SSD, for these reasons:

(1) I really don't think a faster NVMe SSD will be noticeable at all, for typical day-to-day use (including internet browsing and photo scanning). Maybe login would be slightly faster?

(2) I wouldn't want to risk the kernel panics you mention.

(3) I'd rather not spend the money for another NVMe SSD.

(3) In my experience, Monterey runs very well on this machine with the stock Apple SSD.