Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bobbingtons

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 12, 2009
Hey all, just looking for a bit of advice, basically I'm a really keen photographer with a fair few things published in the past couple of years, had stuff in national photography magazines, newspapers and a few ezines mostly competition winning stuff but not always. Anyways I'm only a student and my small student monies mean that I can't afford lens's, I had a job interview a few days ago at a photography studio, not as a photographer but for a marketing job. Well I just got a call back from them not for the marketing position as their still interviewing but as a part time photographer, they want me to go down in a few days and chat to them and do a studio shoot with them :D, they also want me to bring my gear :eek: which consists of a 450d and the 18-55 is lens.

They want me to do some shoots for a charity next month, do you reckon I should just go down to them with the 18-55 or rent a lens or two for the day so they don't dismiss me straight off the bat, I'd obviously rent more lens's for any shoots they want me to do. So should I rent something to go down with when I meet them so I don't look like some stupid kid or should I just go down and hope they like what I can do with a camera? Cheers. :)

Mousse

macrumors 68040
Apr 7, 2008
Flea Bottom, King's Landing
they want me to go down in a few days and chat to them and do a studio shoot with them :D, they also want me to bring my gear :eek: which consists of a 450d and the 18-55 is lens.

Try to get some info on what you'll be shooting. Unless it's something you'll need a different lense for, I see no reason to rent. I'd bring a portfolio of a few pictures to show off. If your prospective employer understand photography, they'd know the most important part of the camera is the 12 inches behind it.;)

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007