Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NewEndOriginal

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 23, 2005
I recently purchased an IMac G5 OS X. I have no previous experience with Macs so I'm a bit lost on certain things. When I try to copy a picture from a website, the menue box pops up and I select Save Image As. but it doesn't do anything. What am I doing wrong? and also how do I change my background image from the once already on my desktop? Sorry, if I posted this in the wrong forum ..... and thank you in advance to anyone that can help me.

vouder17

macrumors 6502a
Apr 30, 2003
Home
NewEndOriginal said:
I recently purchased an IMac G5 OS X. I have no previous experience with Macs so I'm a bit lost on certain things. When I try to copy a picture from a website, the menue box pops up and I select Save Image As. but it doesn't do anything. What am I doing wrong? and also how do I change my background image from the once already on my desktop? Sorry, if I posted this in the wrong forum ..... and thank you in advance to anyone that can help me.

welcome to macs...you know what they say..Once you go mac you aint going back ;)

No but back to topic. All you do in OS x is drag the picture from the web page to your desktop. If you wanna change your desktop, you need to go to System preferences and desktop screen saver and then change it there. Or you can "right" click the desktop. If you have the apple mouse just press CTRl click and this allows you to choose "Change Desktop Background"

Good luck
Peace
DjVoTeZ

iGary

May 26, 2004
Randy's House
I'd reccomend picking up David Pogue's "The Missing Manual" for OS X - If you are going to order Tiger, get that edition - it is available on Amazon.

And yes, just drag the image off the bowser window onto your desktop. It's that easy. Then you can save it wherever you want.

Blurb

macrumors member
May 7, 2004