Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which Control Center Bluetooth/WiFi Toggle do you prefer?

• Total voters

rootee

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 12, 2013
California
It’s terribly inconsistent though...

- airplane mode ON, toggles work as on/off
- airplane mode OFF toggles work as disconnect/connect

Why not add the 3D or long-press with either on/off or disconnect as choices? As a software engineer myself, I would have loved to hear the round-table discussions on this (awful) tradeoff choice!

moderngamenewb

macrumors 6502
Jul 20, 2011
I love the new control center feature. I especially love that when I have my wireless headphones connected, when i put it on airplane mode, it no longer automatically disconnects. When I would put it on airplane mode while my music was still playing, not only would it disconnect the bluetooth, but it would stop my music too. I love that it doesn't do that anymore.

rootee

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 12, 2013
California
I love the new control center feature. I especially love that when I have my wireless headphones connected, when i put it on airplane mode, it no longer automatically disconnects. When I would put it on airplane mode while my music was still playing, not only would it disconnect the bluetooth, but it would stop my music too. I love that it doesn't do that anymore.
I suppose the airplane mode requirement of actually turning the radios off is a non-issue today, now that airlines have on board WiFi, and allow BT headphones even during takeoff.

I would have preferred a 3D or long-press option for either the disconnect, or on/off, then to just force the user into a totally new thing. The annoyance for me is that I prefer my radios to be off for privacy reasons; I don’t want my phone to be a “here I am” beacon for hackers or ad-based tracking.

kucharsk

macrumors regular
May 31, 2016