Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

disdat

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 21, 2005
New England USA
Please forgive me if this is a stupid question. I am still a newbie concerning manual photography.

I am thinking about purchasing my first dSLR and I have a question or two

1. When choosing lenses, I have noticed that each lens has what I assume is a max F/Stop # with it. When connected to my camera, will the camera just 'know' that only a certain level of aperture can be used, or if I choose a lower F/Stop than the lens allows, what happens?

2. I am struggling with the choice between the Canon XT and the XTi. I would love to save $200 and purchase the older XT, so I can put the $ toward lens purchases. But now I am nervous about dust, and perhaps I should go for the XTi. I live in a house with hard wood floors, and forced hot air heat, and this place seems to have a never ending supply of dust. What do you all think?

Thank you very much for any helpful advice. I am a long time MacRumors lurker, so I don't post often, but I read everyday! ;)

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
Hey disdat-

When using SLR cameras (ones that are not fully manual), the camera and the lens communicate using connectors on the lens and the lens mount. Essentially the camera knows what lens it is that you have on there, and when adjusting the aperture, it will open up only to the maximum of the lens. When using manual SLRs (like the FM 10, or one of those older Canons), the aperture is controlled on the actual lens, so you basically have the option of what that will allow. This also applies when using chop-job lenses on autofocus cameras (by that I mean the people that use multi-thousand dollar Leica and Zeiss glass, so that they can show off the corner sharpness of their pictures~ don't worry about it), which once again will require you to use on the lens manual aperture adjustment.