Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JBmac

macrumors member
Original poster
May 19, 2008
Eastern, PA
Hello, I am considering buying a Right Angle Mirror Lens, and would like some feedback from anyone who uses one, or why you don't use one? I am new to Digital SLR using Point and Shoot cameras the last 11 years or so. I like to record candid and unposed photographs, and I think this type of lens would help a lot. I think it sells for under $50. Thanks!

"This Bower 37mm Right Angle Mirror Lens Attachment is a classic "deceptive angle" photographic device. It allows photographs to be taken at 90° right angles of the camera. This means you can keep the camera pointed straight ahead, while actually photographing subjects to your right or to your left. The attachment rotates 360°. Designed to be used on lenses with 37mm filter threads, or with bigger sizes with the use of step-up rings.

Great for candids, kids, or photo-shy people.

Note! This item is recommended for normal and longer focal length lenses only. can not be used with wide angle lenses."​

Everythingisnt

macrumors 6502a
Jan 16, 2008
Vancouver
I wholeheartedly agree that it seems to border on ultimate creepiness.

That being said, if it floats your boat I don't see why you shouldn't go for it!

termina3

macrumors 65816
Jul 16, 2007
TX
you'll have a lot more people creeped out if they figure it out.

Not only are you taking their photo, but you're trying to make them think you're not… and they're a stranger.

JBmac

macrumors member
Original poster
May 19, 2008
Eastern, PA
I guess it must just be a lens for Private Detectives or something, I could not find much information on it, so I don't think it is very popular. Thanks!

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...