Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Squillace

macrumors 6502
Original poster
First of all: this isn't tied to iOS 26, the behaviour used to be the same in the last few versions of iOS.

I'm seriously missing the point of the apps shown/suggested in the share sheet whenever I want to do something with a file (usually pictures). I'm the kind of person that doesn't like to have useless things at sight when I'm sure I won't use them, so I try to keep my share sheet as clean as possible.

Yet, iOS seams to make this task impossible to do because there are some apps that can't be hidden or deleted.

HOW?!

A few screenshots for demonstration:

IMG_3033.PNG
IMG_3034.PNG
IMG_3035.PNG


As you can see, apps like Canon Print, CountThis, Docusign, DS File or Epson iPrint appear on the share sheet, but aren't included in the selected apps menu. The second screenshot shows exactly the apps that I "want" in the share sheet. I would imagine that having a green + button next to the app name would suggest that I can add it to the share sheet list of apps and that by default it isn't included. What is the point of allowing this kind of customisation if at the end of the day we can't go the way we want?
The section is called Suggestions, not visible apps.

Am I missing something? Is there a trick or option that I'm not aware of to hide these unwanted suggestions? Is it somehow related to Apple Intelligence (only option I found was to disable suggested contacts in the share sheet)?

This thing is driving me crazy, please tell me I'm not the only one.


Thanks!
 
  • Like
Reactions: erin.xcv
It is odd, and I interpret the purpose as follows:
  1. The Apps section (top) are your "Favorites" and you can then change the order in which they appear on the share sheet by dragging and dropping them up or down within the Apps list. This does not mean that these are the only apps in the share sheet, just the ones that appear first, and in what order you want.
  2. The Suggested (bottom) section are always "available to use" and appear after your Favorites (i.e. to the right of them when the share sheet is pulled up). You can't change the order of the Suggested apps, they're just always "there", and in whatever order Apple determined is appropriate (maybe the order is variable, depending on the type of item you're trying to share?)
So, there's no way to remove suggested apps like Canon Print, all you can do is add more Favorites to appear before Canon Print, thus pushing it further to the right in the list of apps in the share sheet.

I seem to recall that in the past you could select only what apps you wanted to see, but that's not the case now.
 
Last edited:
What's even weirder is that some apps can be toggled off and some can't.
I am quite frustrated about this issue. When I go to share a photo, the last thing I want to do is share that photo with Doordash, but I am unable to remove it from the menu for the same reason: there is no toggle button.

I have disabled all settings under “Apple Intelligence & Siri” , “Show app in Search”, and it still shows up.

The only workaround barely qualifies as such and is likely not viable for most people: Toggle “Hide and Require Face ID”.

1786912956253.png


1786913026336.png


1786913332289.png
 
I spent an hour on the phone with Apple Support, and shared my screen. We confirmed that this was reproducible on the latest version of iOS (I tested a friend’s phone in addition to mine). This issue does not affect video, and I was unable to reproduce the issue on iPadOS.

The issue appears to be related to how apps reveal themselves to iOS Share Sheet, so one could argue it is both an App Developer issue and an iOS issue. They submitted the feedback to their Engineering team, but I assume that is a black hole and nothing will come of that. 🕳️

(1) It seems like an accessibility issue — elderly people don’t do well with visual clutter. (2) It is arguably a UI-related privacy risk, too, because there is no “Are you sure” pop-up once you click an app, so I can see someone elderly hitting the wrong button and sharing a picture of sensitive medical data with, say, Doordash, by mistake (admittedly that is a bit of a stretch). Mostly its just annoying.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.