Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

flinch13

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 4, 2004
Hey everyone,

There are a lot of talented photographers who post on this forum and I'm honored to be able to ask questions to you guys. Here's one that's been bugging me for a long time... what ISO values should be used in the real world?

I have had a Rebel XT (my first DSLR) for the past three months and have kept the ISO down to 100 to reduce noise. I have been relatively happy with the results, but I'm just a newbie, and for all I know I could have ruined some perfectly doable shots by sticking to such a low sensitivity. What do you guys use and in what situations? What do you notice as far as image quality reduction and noise? Anyone have particular experience with the XT? Also, is there anyone out there who also keeps their ISO down to 100 all the time? I may just continue doing that if it's what you guys do. Thanks so much, any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
I use whatever ISO gives me the shutter speed required to take the shot. I'm not afraid of noise, and I'm not afraid of using a high ISO if it gets me a good shutter speed that will allow me to take a non-blurry photo. Blurry photos definitely look worse than a slight amount of noise.

You don't have this on your XT, but on my D300, I care so little about ISO that I just leave it on AUTO ISO. It'll increase the ISO every time the shutter speed goes below 1/40th of a second. Generally, this is good enough. If my shutter speed is below this, then the ISO increases until I can shoot at a minimum of 1/40th seconds.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan