Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DustyShaw

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 26, 2018
I'm new to video editing and struggling to find the right tool for my specific needs, so I thought I'd ask here.

I'm looking to create a video with four basic tracks or layers: Video / Audio (voiceover) / Audio (music) / and Text.

My goal is to overlay a layer of text onto the video, and synchronize this text with the voiceover track. It doesn't have to be perfectly synced, just has to flow along with the voiceover so the viewer can read and listen in unison. So the text should be presented gradually, It's a bit like subtitles, with the exception that it's shorter lines of text -- only about 4-7 words at a time.

My search has been frustrating thus far because I lack the terminology to describe this capability. Most of the search results I'm getting are about text-to-video AI which is not what i'm looking for.

I've explored several online AI video editors like Pictory, Invideo, Canva, Murf, and others, but none seem to support this type of text overlay. They typically allow you to attach text to a video clip, which means it remains on the screen for the entire duration of the clip, regardless of whether the clip is 5 seconds or 5 minutes.

I need a tool that will allow me to put the text on it's own separate track or layer, so I can manipulate it separately from the video track.

I'm sure this can be done using proper video editing software, and that is the way I'll go if need be. However I may prefer an AI tool online because they do streamline the process, as I'd be using stock footage and stock music clips, and possibly AI voiceovers.