Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jjiangweilan

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 16, 2016
I just move from Windows to Mac and going to buy the new rMBP 13" at late Oct.

I am wondering whether I should upgrade RAM to 16BG or storage to 512GB because I have a limited budget so I have to choose one of them.

I'm a computer science student. Actually, I have started to develop iOS app on Hackintosh 1 year ago because this Mac hasn't come out until late Oct ( what an ordeal to develop iOS on VM). Oh, I also will do photo editing and VM and running a server while programming on Mac.

Do you know how different is 16GB and 8GB on Mac? since I think I can use cloud and external storage to manage memory so if RAM is the priority I'd like put my money on RAM. If MacOS has nice optimization, I will upgrade storage.
After read all these articles from 4 years ago to 1 year ago, I'm kinda confused because some people say there is a big difference, but some say no. So I think I do need some up-to-date suggestions.

And if you can, cloud you please share some experiences where you open multiple apps and feel glitch?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

New_Mac_Smell

macrumors 68000
Oct 17, 2016
Shanghai
If you're on a budget I'd always pick RAM over storage. RAM may not make an immediate difference but is noticeable after a year or so of ownership. With the current MBPs having no upgradable RAM, you'd be forced to buy a new computer when it eventually becomes sluggish. With storage, it's less of a problem, you can just clean up your computer. Or use an external drive, or even better just get a NAS when you reach max capacity.

256GB should be enough for most people, you shouldn't really be storing masses of files on your system. Get an external and back stuff up. Internal HDD should really only be a working drive for apps and current project files.

Reactions: JTToft

Trahearne

macrumors 6502