Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mikeboss

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 13, 2009
switzerland
I've got several USB-C ethernet adapters:

DELL DBQBCBC064

and

Microsoft JWL-00002

they both work flawless if connected to a Macmini9,1 running macOS Big Sur 11.2.3 or a PC running Windows 10.
if connected to the MacBookAir10,1 (also running Big Sur 11.2.3) the network gets disconnected after trying to transfer multiple gigabytes. I also tried it with another M1 MacBook Air, same result.

of course all is good if I'm using Apple's Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt adapter in combination with Apple's Thunderbolt to ethernet adapter.

mikeboss

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 13, 2009
switzerland
I have been using the Belkin Ethernet to USB-C for several years and never had any problems. It also has been working flawlessly with my M1.

and the one from Belkin also works when transferring tens or hundreds of gigabytes over ethernet?
as long as I'm not trying to transfer large amounts of data my adapters work just fine...

mikeboss

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 13, 2009
switzerland
okay, thnx! I just ordered the one from Belkin... I'm curious to see if this will work reliable.

iandk

macrumors regular
Aug 10, 2019
I've noticed network speed issues when using those external gigabit adapters on my M1 air.
Even the Belkin one has those issues

Reactions: bobcomer

mikeboss

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 13, 2009
switzerland
yeah, IMHO, USB is good for keyboards and mice...for example: using USB ethernet adapters creates high CPU load. I had zero problems over the years with Apple's Thunderbolt to Ethernet adapter. I wouldn't mind the higher cost, but a Thunderbolt 3 to Ethernet adapter simply doesn't exist (apart from the hot running and bulky 10Gb adapters).

I have zero confidence that the Belkin adapter will work. we'll see, it should be delivered tomorrow...