Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacinTosh.0

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 25, 2012
I’m just an amateur videographer and film mostly in 4K, but plan on getting more involved in doing bigger video projects. I’m currently using a maxed out 2016 iMac and that had only 1TB SSD. I pretty much just load everything on to externals. Would 1TB be just fine if I just unload/save and edit everything off of externals? Or would it be better to get a higher TB storage, transfer files to Mac Studio for editing and then transfer to externals when job is complete? Any help is greatly appreciated!

F-Train

macrumors 68020
Apr 22, 2015
NYC & Newfoundland
This is one of those situations where what you are currently doing as an amateur is also what professional film editors do. If a filmmaker has hours of footage to edit, it just makes sense to have the editing application on the internal drive and the footage on external drives.

As an amateur who is presumably not making long-form films, you can do whatever you want. It comes down to personal preference and the difference in cost between, in this case, Mac Studio storage and external storage. For video editing, using drives such as Samsung's T7 will be just as efficient as the internal drive on your Mac Studio.

Last edited:

Mr Screech

macrumors 6502
Mar 2, 2018
You'd probably be fine using the 1TB with the external disks.

If things were to slow down or you want to use this system for a very long time, I recommend getting a separate thunderbolt 3 enclosure with nvme drive.
Put all your working projects files on it, as well as use it as scratch disk.
This offloads read/writes from your internal disk which will have it last longer.
And if the nvme drive runs out, it's easily replaceable, unlike the internal drive.

Reactions: StoneJack

teohyc

macrumors 6502a
May 24, 2007