Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sill

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 14, 2014
I like to send music to my home stereo through the MacOS Music app via Airplay. I've been using discarded Apple Airports for a few years, with more than acceptable fidelity from the built-in DAC on the later models. They last a few years and then start screwing with my network, so I toss them and put another one in service. The supply of used $50 Airports is drying up, though, so I need to find something else.

requirements:

built-in DAC
Wifi not BT
Airplay 2 preferable rather than proprietary stuff
< $100 because I have multiple stereos
NO GOOGLE PRODUCTS

Sill

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 14, 2014
Thank you for posting that. I checked out that Belkin SoundForm on AudioScienceReview, it got mixed reviews. Connectivity issues and fidelity were big questions, and one person discovered the SoundForm kept phoning out to a couple of IP addresses, which is a big red tag for me. Another poster actually recommended doing what I've been doing, which is buying up old Airport Extremes.

I saw mentions there for the WiiM Mini and the Songbird from Andover. The WiiM seems kind of objectionable for security purposes. The Songbird looks interesting, but its $150, which is more than I'd wanted to spend. If I can't find anything more reasonable I'll take a longer look at it.

• Wow
Reactions: MajorFubar

arw

macrumors 65816
Aug 31, 2010
In case one of your stereos has an optical input, a used Apple TV (3rd gen or lower) may be a stable alternative. Although Airplay 1 only.
A free but "hacky" solution is a jailbroken iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch which serves as an AirPlay receiver (the iPhone 4 a.e. has an excellent DAC and should provide great quality via dock connector line-out.
I use AirSpeaker.

Last edited:
Reactions: Sill

Sill

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 14, 2014