Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Would you ever consider switching to Android?

• Yes

Votes: 30 39.0%
  • No

Votes: 47 61.0%

• Total voters

Konvictz

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 25, 2014
So I've used iPhone since I was a student and don't plan to change anytime soon - although I have a Macbook and several iPhones, I am not a blind Apple fanboy - I am open to change but only if Android can deliver something as good as iPhone.

I like that you can backup and restore on new models, it is a seamless process. The best reason I stay on iPhone is reliability and performance. Apps just perform better, run cleaner, smother on iOS compared to Android.

Android seems a bit more blocky and stuttery compared to iOS.

But if Android ever was to deliver iOS levels of reliability and stability and a smooth experience like iOS - I would love to switch.

What about you, what could make you switch to Android, if anything?

Reactions: Cape Dave

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
I already made that choice when the iPhone 7/7+ launched.

Apple doesn't want to change the design element of that big ugly camera bump, they don't get my money.

UnifiedMelody

macrumors 6502
Nov 17, 2017
Australia
depends on which company innovates more and provides an interesting prospect, android and iOS are so close nowadays that the differences become minimal/marginal in terms of differentiation. Obviously iPhones will have the fastest chip available but nowadays I'm seeing the speed difference becoming negligible, android phones did come a long way... and also i'm flexible with android and iOS i can use both easily without much issues as I'm a techie.

c0LdFire

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2013
Well designed hardware that doesn't run like trash after 6 months, and guaranteed OS updates for 5-6 years - at least security updates.