Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kaiser Phoenix

Cancelled
Original poster
May 12, 2005
Hi all,

Before I begin, I do apologize for yet another thread on this topic but I have done extensive research and just want some more opinion on the bottom 2 choices. I am a complete noob in this area and just trying to enter the DSLR scene.

Here are my options:

Nikon D40 + Aperture + 4GB Sandisk Extreme III = 279 + 116 (edu) + 17.44

total of 412.44 then minus £30 for the rebate to get roughly 382.44.

OR

Just get a D60 and a memory card for 422 + 17.44 - £40 rebate = £399 and then just use iphoto that i have.

I am not planning to buy any other lens, just the ones that come with the cameras which are the 18-55mm for the D40 and the same but VR version for the D60.

Now at first sight, the D40 seems to be the way forward as I could use it as a cheap but decent learning camera and then maybe after a year or 2 if I decide that photography is my thing, get a better camera.

However the VR lens on the D60 plus the Expeed processing and the 4 extra mp also seems attractive and not to mention that it is a newer model so future proofing to an extent.

Which way should I go?? I will be taking photos mainly outside but sometimes in situations of less light like nights or dinner parties which makes me lean towards the D60 with its defaul VR lens...

Thank you in advance!

PS Do I even need Aperture or will iPhoto suffice? I am also interested in post production too.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
Here are my options:

OR

Just get a D60 and a memory card for 422 + 17.44 - £40 rebate = £399 and then just use iphoto that i have.

I am not planning to buy any other lens, just the ones that come with the cameras which are the 18-55mm for the D40 and the same but VR version for the D60.