Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Plymouthbreezer

macrumors 601
Original poster
Feb 27, 2005
Massachusetts
Alrighty. I'm not a super novice, but I just want some opinions about what SLR to buy... I've narrowed the field down to these three choices:

• Sony Alpha A100
• Canon Digital Rebel XTi
• Nikon D80

Personally, I like the feel of the Sony the best , and I've used Sony camera products (both digital and video) for over 6 years with great results. I'm comfortable with the product lines, and for me I've never had any serious issues. About a month ago, I was talking to a wedding photographer, who reccomended the A100, further swaying my choice towards this model.

But then again, so many people love their Digital Rebel's, and yes, they do produce great results. Personally though, it doesn't feel, physically as nice...

What about the D80?? I've used a D80 once, and it seemed similar to the Sony... And, the price between the A100 and D80 "starter kits" are within dollars of eacother. Anywho, thoughts, ideas, concerns from any of our pro's here at the forum??

Thanks!

Silentwave

macrumors 68000
May 26, 2006
Which control style do you like best? The nikon's two horizontal command dials? switch positionings? Do you prefer to have a control panel LCD or to eat battery by using the 2.5" LCD for settings display?

I'd recommend the Nikon from an image quality standpoint. Sony did a good job on the A100 body, for the most part, but IMHO the image quality is lacking. High ISOs especially are terrible.

epicwelshman

macrumors 6502a
Apr 6, 2006
Nassau, Bahamas
There are people who are far more knowledgable than me on this matter, but I'll give my two cents.

I've been very pleased with Sony's products in the past (aside from exploding batteries) and I've heard it's pretty similar to the D80, but I've also heard that it has a lot more noise in it's images.