Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BurntPotato

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 3, 2017
Hello all,

I'm currently a college student and I plan on getting the 2017 nTB MacBook Pro this summer. I am choosing between 8GB and 16GB RAM. Here are my general uses: web browsing, video streaming, occasional light picture or video editing, light gaming such as League of Legends, and I do plan on installing windows to play some Windows only games as well.
Any input would be appreciated. Thank you!

throAU

macrumors G3
Feb 13, 2012
Perth, Western Australia
Do not spend the money you need to spend on a macbook pro and gimp it with 8 GB of RAM in 2017. You're saving a couple of hundred bucks (i.e., 10% or less off the purchase price) to significantly cripple the machine and reduce it's useful life, moving forward)

Whilst you might not need it today, it's not that difficult to get memory pressure up on an 8 GB machine with today's applications, and it's likely you'll keep the 2017 machine for 3-5 years. By that point 8 GB will be extremely limiting.

Having 16 GB in the machine will make it much more relevant and useful in the coming years for (relative to purchase price of the machine) not a lot of additional outlay.

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
You don't need it by the sounds of it and unless you insist on keeping every app you use open and a plethora of tabs open in your browser you will likely never need it. I have had 8gb of RAM since 2010 and never needed it and my memory pressure is at least as good as it was 7 years ago, my needs just haven't changed.

16gb is a huge amount of RAM its that simple really. If it will make you feel better go for it but I doubt you would ever know the difference.

EugW

macrumors G5
Jun 18, 2017
8 GB is what you need now.