Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BrentGambrell

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 30, 2008
Kentucky
Hi, I'm new to this forum and not so new to photography but new to the whole idea of actually going somewhere with it.

I'm only 17 and I'm ready to begin my career. I know a lot of people say photography is one of the riskiest careers and I should keep it as a hobby. I know that once I begin, nothing will stand in my way. (my motivation)

Anyway, this is what I needed help on.

I'm new to photography(obviously), but I need help. I'm purchasing a Nikon D40 at the end of December. I've seen a lot of posts made about the Nikon D40 99.1% positive. Since I was 12, I played with Digital Compact cameras that were Nikon. I'm used to Nikon and I only trust Nikon.

Question 1. Can anyone tell me what lens are compatible with the D40. I know that some of the Nikon/Nikkor (whatever) lenses won't work with the Nikon D40. Please explain and give me details =].

Question 2. Since I'm new and I don't plan on making a lot of money as of right now, should I do the whole sell to stock photo websites. I know I'm pretty great at taking portraits and landscaping but I wonder if Stock Photo websites would really benefit an amateur.

Question 3. I know I shouldn't be asking anyone this and I should only be asking myself but I have to share this day to day question. Will I eventually get bored with this. The reason I ask myself that is because I know I'll be using the D40 for a VERY long time, will I get bored with it? I'm flowing with creativity and I'm ready to unleash it into pictures but, will it last forever? Please, someone who shares the same question and experience please let me know.