Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gazfocus

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 3, 2008
Liverpool, UK
Ok, so I'm an amateur when it comes to photography and cameras.

I bought a Fujifilm S6500fd last year because 'it looked cool', but really have no idea how to get good quality photo's from it.

I'm basically looking for a HIGH QUALITY camera (be it compact, or long zoom, not too fussed), although would prefer a compact camera.

I want something that will take high quality shots both with and without the flash on (my camera tends to blur enverything when the flash is supressed). I'd also like to be able to take photo's of moving objects (such as people dancing, etc).

I know it's a long shot, but really looking for some help here :)

I don't REALLY have a budget I need to stick to (basically, if I can afford a suggested camera, I'd buy it), but don't want ridiculously expensive ones :)

Thanks in advance

cube

Suspended
May 10, 2004
That is one of the best cameras below a DSLR for low light.

Did you set the camera to 'auto ISO', or manually to ISO 800 when in low light?

the Helix

macrumors regular
Sep 16, 2003
Look no further...

You need look no further than a Nikon D3 with the triple lens set of: 14-24mm, 24-70mm, 70-200mm. Even at night with this set up, you will rarely, if ever, need a flash.

However you do need to have about $10K handy.

gazfocus

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Jan 3, 2008
Liverpool, UK
That is one of the best cameras below a DSLR for low light.

Did you set the camera to 'auto ISO', or manually to ISO 800 when in low light?

Hi. As I said, I don't really know alot about camera's. As far as I know it's set to auto ISO. Should I set it manually to 800?

Baron58 said:

Man, I feel out of my depth :(