Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

duncanapple

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 12, 2008
Hi all -

So I may have jumped the gun on my signature below - I ordered a canon 50mm 1.4 prime from amazon over a month ago. The end of the window of time that they gave me as a delivery date is this Friday, and it still hasn't even shipped yet. I was googling this lens, and it seems there are rumors circulating about a possible replacement for this lens? Granted its so close to the (four times as expensive) 50 f/1.2L, I cant imagine what else they could change other than making it a ring type USM vs the micro USM. Has any one else here heard rumblings or have any reason to think the current iteration is on its way out? I wonder if this is true, if amazon will be getting any more, and even if so, do I want it if a new one is coming out?

The lens more than meets my needs (I am an amateur, the 1.2L is overkill $$ wise) though the one bad thing about the 1.4 I have read is the auto focus breaking over time. Not sure if this is widespread, or if this is one of those deals where the small .0000001% of people affected is just very loud about it (like many apple "defects" lol).

So my questions;

1. New 1.4 coming? Thoughts?
2. When was the current 1.4 released? How long is the typical refresh cycle for canon (ex apple tends to update iphones annually, laptops 2x a year, etc)
3. Durability of the micro USM vs Ring type USM

Thanks!

Edge100

macrumors 68000
May 14, 2002
Where am I???
Hi all -

So my questions;

1. New 1.4 coming? Thoughts?
2. When was the current 1.4 released? How long is the typical refresh cycle for canon (ex apple tends to update iphones annually, laptops 2x a year, etc)
3. Durability of the micro USM vs Ring type USM

Thanks!