Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

After reading my post, which one would you pick based on the provided information?

• 16" 2019 MBP

Votes: 46 48.9%
  • 13" 2020 MBP

Votes: 48 51.1%

• Total voters

piecookie

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 22, 2012
Hi, I'm trying to make a decsision but I can't.
I work as a Frontend developer doing mostly programming.

Until now I've used an 13" MBP Early 2015 (core i5, 8gb ram) and it still works pretty fine.

But soon I might do some heavier development which will require more juice than that, that's why I'm considering upgrading, also a huge fan of True Tone.

For me portability and ease-of-use is a huge priority for me, I like to flip open the laptop wherever I might be and it should'nt feel bulky.

13" Pros
More portable

13" Cons
Thick bezels and less screen real-estate which might be more tedious for development using multiple windows.

16" Pros/Cons
Opposite of the ones above.

My gut tells me to go with the 13" as a can almost feel how I will think the 16" is too big. But then again, I've never used the 16" before and maybe I'd totally like it?

Can anyone here help me make a good decsision?

marmiteturkey

macrumors 6502a
Aug 27, 2005
London
I love my 16 and have had 13s in the past; but because you say portability and the ability to flip it open wherever points me towards a well-specced 13.

Everything else in your post says go for the 16, so think hard about how important portability really is, and if it's not THAT high up, think about the 16 instead. I take my 16 everywhere (or used to), but it IS significantly less portable than a 13, esp in more confined spaces.

UnBip

macrumors newbie
May 13, 2020
I have had a 13'' for the past 3 years and been coding on it. it's amazing for its portability, but when I'm traveling and only counting on the screen estate, it's definitely not ideal.