Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

p-dog

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2016
London
Did anyone catch this during the keynote?

1. "We're building in software encoder support into High Sierra for all Macs"
2. "Hardware acceleration of HEVC in the newest Macs"...

Hardware accelerated lists MacBook Pro 2016. I thought this is not possible in Skylake?

hevc.jpg

jun180

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2010
Yes I heard this, I am not an expert on these codecs. Can anyone shed some light on this, and what it means for 4k video playback/editing?

p-dog

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 15, 2016
London
I think the key component that doesn't exist in Skylake and does properly on Kaby Lake is the DRM/licensing element, right? Anyone?

Ries

macrumors 68020
Apr 21, 2007

Hardware accelerated lists MacBook Pro 2016. I thought this is not possible in Skylake?

hevc.jpg

8-Bit is on skylake. 10-bit is only possbile using hybrid gpu/cpu code. The dGPU has 8/10-bit hardware support.

sublunar

macrumors 68020
Jun 23, 2007
H.265 is only available in hardware in the Kaby Lake CPUs. It's not present in the Skylake CPUs. Building a software encoder is ok but it'll be demanding in terms of CPU and therefore battery life in comparison to the same job in done with a native Kaby Lake CPU. I suppose a 15" 2016 Macbook Pro could have GPU assisted encoding.

Miltz

macrumors 6502a
Sep 6, 2013
H.265 is only available in hardware in the Kaby Lake CPUs. It's not present in the Skylake CPUs. Building a software encoder is ok but it'll be demanding in terms of CPU and therefore battery life in comparison to the same job in done with a native Kaby Lake CPU. I suppose a 15" 2016 Macbook Pro could have GPU assisted encoding.

He said "HARDWARE" not software. Time will tell.

Reactions: xmonkey

Birkan

macrumors regular
Sep 11, 2011
Germany