Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sai22

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 30, 2020
Catalonia, Spain
I have a Mac Mini (2014) i5 8Gb 1Tb HDD. It was running ok, until I upgraded to Mojave. Is there anyway to backtrack on an OS upgrade? I assume there is not :(
I'm not too tech savvy, (although I have dismantled an old macbook and installed a hard drive where the DVD Rom drive was.) Looking into how to boost speed of the Mac Mini I have discovered that the RAM cannot be changed, but I can add something called PCIe fairly easily (ifixit).
Would 250gb ssd PCIe make a difference, ie speed it up/less spinning beach ball? Or should I upgrade the 1Tb HDD to an SSD? Or both?

Thanks for your attention

G4DPII

macrumors 6502
Jun 8, 2015
THe best way to upgrade your 2014 Mac Mini wold be to add a SSD by replacing the HDD. There are various reports saying you can/cannot add a PCIe SSD. Although they all have the connection for adding a PCIe card, my best understanding so far is that if your Mini did not ship with a fusion drive then you cannot add a PCIe card.

I may well be wrong and someone with a greater understanding of that side of things may chime in and clarify.

Reactions: Sai22

Sai22

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 30, 2020
Catalonia, Spain
THe best way to upgrade your 2014 Mac Mini wold be to add a SSD by replacing the HDD. There are various reports saying you can/cannot add a PCIe SSD. Although they all have the connection for adding a PCIe card, my best understanding so far is that if your Mini did not ship with a fusion drive then you cannot add a PCIe card.

I may well be wrong and someone with a greater understanding of that side of things may chime in and clarify.
Thanks for that insight

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
Either add an SSD internally (PCI kind is best)
or
Plug in a USB3 EXTERNAL SSD, and set that up to be the boot drive.