Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

M-5

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 4, 2008
So about 5 days ago, a friend of mine told me that his older sister was getting married and that his mom wanted me to be the photographer for the wedding. I know how important such an event is, and since I'm not a professional and have no experience shooting a wedding (let alone the proper equipment), I told him that I strongly believed that he should hire someone who was more experienced and capable than I was at photographing the wedding.

I've read on these forums before about how weddings are very demanding, and one member even mentioned that he heard of friendships being ruined over bad wedding photographs. I mentioned this to him, but he just told me that I didn't even know his older sister so it wouldn't matter and that it was only going to be a very very small wedding (the groom's side of the family wasn't going to be present).

I spoke to his younger sister, who is also my friend, and tried to convince her to hire someone who knew what they were doing as well, but she said that it wasn't going to be a big deal and that they only wanted some nice family shots to remember the event and perhaps some shots of the bride and groom outdoors. I agreed and told them that I would have no problem doing the wedding if they couldn't find anyone else to do it.