Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

termina3

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 16, 2007
TX
Stemming from another thread, the topic is pretty well covered in the title.

The main worry for photographers is glossy screens, which are purportedly hard to calibrate and lack shadow detail (I say purportedly b/c I've never had problems).

cshale210

macrumors member
Nov 8, 2007
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

I'm a photographer and the glossy screen is a bit harder but I think with the LED backlit it will compensate for accurcy

troyhark

macrumors member
Jun 27, 2008
I'm feeeling distinctly underwhelmed and was looking to replace my 3yr old laptop. Apple just saved me a bunch of money, as for the price, it's simply not appealing, especially as a BluRay burner [for archiving], is a must have criteria for my next laptop.
Apple seem to be turning into a music selling company with serious computers being of little importance anymore.

line

macrumors newbie
Jul 25, 2002
switzerland
glossy

i work with a couple of glossy displays on macbooks and 24in imacs in my studio calibrated with spyder3's. color accuracy and shadow and highlight detail is optimal for our needs and our client's and i'm guessing LED will be better even. so we'll be getting some mbps and acds in the coming months... i vote no.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
I think the majority of the computer industry is heading towards glossy displays. The current reaction by some is reminiscent of the transition between crts and lcds.

One more thing: no laptop screen comes close to a good external lcd. So for real critical work, you need to use an external screen anyway.

ipodtoucher

macrumors 68000
Sep 13, 2007
Cedar Park, TX