Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

connor55

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 14, 2017
Edmonton canada
Hey guys, I wanted to share a little project I've been working on over the holidays. I'm new to this forum and I am not a professional at this by any means, I just like to challenge myself with projects like this. I'll share the details of my ongoing project, but please keep in mind that I am just doing this for fun.

It started when my friend gave me an iMac G4 that he didn't need anymore, and I thought the design was way too cool to just throw away or not use. Technically it was working just fine (the disc drive wasn't strong enough to open the door anymore though) but the system didn't have wifi, and was really slow for even the most basic tasks. I had heard about colbyjohn94's successful M1 project and wanted to see if I could also do it.

My goal is to make the computer appear stock from the outside, while retaining all the original functionality(except for all the outdated ports) and being powered by Mac mini hardware either from an M1 or the upcoming M1 pro/max in the future.

At this point I'm just looking for a good deal on a used M1 Mini with decent specs (16gb 512gb at least). Or if the rumoured "pro" mini comes out before then, and the hardware is small enough, I may get that instead. Imagine what a sleeper that'd be..

Anyway, here are the progress pics. Enjoy!

tempImagez1moFk.png

Picking it up.. working slowly but really dusty and doesn't connect to the internet.
tempImagePKdNVo.png

Got it home, and immediately began to gut it.

tempImageiDNQY5.png

They really made use of every bit of space here
tempImageARX9hT.png

pretty unique PSU, such an apple thing to do

tempImageovFQGn.png

Finished gutting the main components.. now what? Time to do some research...

tempImageVEe8HT.png