Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

madonnaragu

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 13, 2021
It's really light, fast, beautiful and silent. But I'm missing apps from Windows that I use on a daily basis:

- PDF printer with profiles. For example, I can assign different printing preferences and folders to print to for PDF Printer 1/2/3 etc.
- Simple text editor with macro

Also, is this possible on a Mac:

- Fully maximise a window WITHOUT going full-screen
- Terminate apps when the last open window is closed
- Move the top menu bar OR adjust the auto-show delay

I am new to Macs so thanks for your help!

Reactions: Irishman

chabig

macrumors G4
Sep 6, 2002
Your questions are very common. Some of the things you're asking ("Also, is this possible...") are really just trying to make your new Mac act like a Windows PC. The best advice I can give to those questions is "don't". Macs and Windows are different, with their own strengths and weaknesses. Trying to make one behave like the other is usually a fool's errand.

For the printer profiles, investigate Presets in the printer dialog. You can save settings there.

For the text editor, check out BBEdit, one of then favorite text editors on Macs since probably 1984. It's available stand alone and on the App Store:

madonnaragu

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 13, 2021
Your questions are very common. Some of the things you're asking ("Also, is this possible...") are really just trying to make your new Mac act like a Windows PC. The best advice I can give to those questions is "don't". Macs and Windows are different, with their own strengths and weaknesses. Trying to make one behave like the other is usually a fool's errand.

For the printer profiles, investigate Presets in the printer dialog. You can save settings there.