Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

james1129

macrumors newbie
Feb 1, 2016
6
0
Some of the guys that were working with Pike split off into a new thread to concentrate on just the development and testing of Pike's frequent changes, "the developer thread". As these things go, the volunteers that were testing Pike's changes found that they needed to frequently wipe and re-install, me included, so I developed a bundle of scripts and items to ease the install of a new El Capitan. My innovation (if you want to call it that) was to find a way to patch the fresh install with Pike's efi files during the install. I called my bundle of scripts and items 'pikify3.1.zip'.

Since it is now well used and tested, I'll cross post here. The latest version pikify3.1.v8.zip will build install media with all the fixes in (but not including my Boot64 update protector, nor the equivalent pikeyosfix derivative CapitanPikeFix - see the next post). This version also excludes the boot.efi files from SIP-control (meaning SIP is running and protecting everything else, just not the boot.efi files).

So with pikify3.1 you will build an installer onto media, typically a USB memory stick, or a small disk partition.
You will then boot off the installer, to run the installation process. Once the installer finishes, you will have a working copy of El Capitan with no further need for changes. You can then choose to install the updated version of pikeyosfix now called CapitanPikeFix, or my Boot64 (both do pretty much the same thing), to allow you to run the Apple updates from either the App Store or from the DMG downloads.

READ ALL THE CAVEATS - memory, backup, fresh install, migration assistant, etc...

Use this if you have not yet installed El Capitan - this is the installer (starting point)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ORIGINAL POST WAS AT POST #807 of the 'boot.efi developer's thread'

============= Edit =====================

It appears that MacPro1,1 and 2,1 need a lot of memory to achieve a successful install by this method. Others have kindly tested with varying configurations of RAM. See the later posts in the developers thread and my post at #855

A minimum of 12GB seems to be required...

============ end edit ====================

Hi @Inspector42, I'm glad you were able to use my script. I like your rsync idea!

Here is a new script and accompanying files. This one is based around Apple's createinstallmedia script.

The unique feature of this script is that it builds an installer which will pre-patch the resulting El Capitan volume. What this means is that the installer can be run, and then the reboot will work without any further modification. You have a working installation of El Capitan directly from the installer.

Download the zip file.
Unzip it.
You should have a folder named pikify3.1 (possibly with the version number pikify3.1.v2 etc)
In that folder should be a number of files, the script is createpikeinstallmedia. Keep all the files in one location. Some people have tried to use just the script on its own without the accompanying files and then come back for help because it didn't work. You can move the pikify3.1 folder wherever you please, just keep the contents of the folder together.

If you are not familiar with the Terminal and the command line, take a look at post #1569 it will probably help you.

Pre-requisites:

  • As per Peter's guide, you will need a volume that can be overwritten by the installer
    • This could be a USB memory stick
    • A small disk partition from one of your hard drives (not the disk that you intend to use for El Capitan)
      • You need to be able to boot from this volume
  • The installer volume needs to be at least 8GB
  • Your copy of 'Install OS X El Capitan.app' should be located in your /Applications folder
  • The pikify3.1 folder contains both the black and grey variants of the boot.efi file. When unzipped the boot.efi file is the grey one, if you want to change to the black background variant, simply copy the black one over the boot.efi before you start. e.g.
    Code:
    cp -f boot_black_3_1.efi boot.efi
Usage:
  • Open a terminal window
  • Change directory to the pikify3.1 folder from the zip file. Let us assume that you downloaded the zip file to your Downloads folder and unzipped it there. (If you have put the pikify3.1 folder somewhere else, please alter the path to suit your location)
  • Change [InstallerVolumeName] to the name of the USB memory stick or your small disk partition. For example if you are using a USB memory stick and it shows on the desktop with the name Untitled, then replace [InstallerVolumeName] with Untitled so that the path reads /Volumes/Untitled
Code:
cd ~/Downloads/pikify3.1
  • You need to run the script as the root user
Code:
sudo -s
[your password]
./createpikeinstallmedia /Volumes/[InstallerVolumeName]

  • OR
Code:
sudo ./createpikeinstallmedia /Volumes/[InstallerVolumeName]
[your password]
  • OR (optionally switch to the black background variant before you start)
Code:
sudo -s
[your password]
cp -f boot_black_3_1.efi boot.efi
./createpikeinstallmedia /Volumes/[InstallerVolumeName]

Be patient, the script will take some time to run through to completion, especially if your installer volume is a USB memory stick!

Once the script competes it will print ### DONE PIKIFYING ### and you should have an installer volume named 'Install OS X El Capitan'
  • Reboot your machine
  • Hold the ALT key down immediately after the startup chime to enter the boot chooser
  • Choose the Install OS X El Capitan volume
    • For those people with graphics cards that don't show the boot screens
      • Get to the boot chooser as above then press the right-arrow key once, followed by the return/enter key). If you have just your main disk and the installer volume this should work. If you have more than just those two, experiment pressing the arrow key more than once until you find the installer volume!
      • OR, consider getting hold of a DVI-vga adaptor. You should be able to find one of your DVI ports that will send out a VGA signal (to a VGA connected monitor) and show you the boot screen.
Your machine should boot into the Installer, run the installer
You may need to click the Reboot button at the end of the install (for some reason, the 10 second countdown doesn't seem to automatically start)

Your machine should reboot into the new El Capitan Installation and begin the OS X setup procedure.

I have only tested this script as a clean install onto an erased destination disk. I don't know if it will work for an upgrade. I have successfully updated a Yosemite clean install to El Capitan.
If you are upgrading I would suggest a clean install of El Capitan onto a spare disk, then use the Apple Migration Assistant to migrate your previous system and user files.
If you are brave and want to try an in-place upgrade, make sure you backup your current system first...

Detail:

I created an additional package (pikify.pkg) which handles the post-install modification of the boot.efi files on the destination volume. The script puts pikify.pkg into the InstallESD.dmg, along with OSInstall.collection.
OSInstall.collection overrides the default behaviour of the Installer Assistant, it calls the default OSInstall.mpkg and appends pikify.pkg to the install chain.

In effect I'm running the exact same installation as an unmodified Apple install with the addition of my pikify.pkg.

Because the default behaviour has been overridden, there are a few differences:
  • An unmodified Apple installer will open with the /System/Installation/CDIS/OS X Utilities.app
    • The modified installer goes straight into the Installer
  • An unmodified Apple installer will automatically reboot 10 seconds after the installation completes
    • The modified installer doesn't, you will have to click the Reboot button
I've included both versions (black and grey) of Pike's 3.1 boot.efi file. If you want to change the colour, overwrite the boot.efi file in the pikify3.1 folder with the coloured version of your choice. The zip file unpacks with the grey version in place.

Enjoy...

======================== UPDATE ================================

The original Apple BaseSystem.dmg appears to be missing a number of fonts. This causes the installer log file to fill up with thousands of unnecessary lines complaining about the missing fonts. I've updated the installer creation script to fix the missing fonts. It just makes the log file smaller and easier to read and follow.

See pikify3.1.v2.zip in the attachments...

==================== ANOTHER UPDATE =============================

I figured out how to set up El Capitan so that we can make it survive an Apple update. See my post at post #1391

I've modified the pikify3.1 set so that those changes are automatically applied.

I'll leave v2 here in case anyone is paranoid, and doesn't want the slight lowering of SIP's security blanket!

==================== Version 5 ===================================

V5 includes some mods to the SIP exclusion paths file

==================== Version 7 ===================================
(includes version 6, which added support for home-baked fusion drives)
V7 adds error checking and a bit of an explanation to start

==================== Version 8 ===================================
V8 adds a check to ensure there is a copy of the Apple Install OS X El Capitan application located in the Applications folder!


Hey I really appreciate the amount of work you put into getting this out in a readable format for someone who is as technologically illiterate as I am. I keep getting the terminal error message

"Cannot find copy of Apple's Install OS X El Capitan application in your Applications folder.
Please use the App Store to download a copy..."

I dont have a compatible mac to download the installer from the MAS. I thought that this method did not require me to have that. I cant find anywhere in the thread that would also give me some insight into solving this problem so that is why I am responding to you. Hopefully there is a work around
~James
 

hwojtek

macrumors 68020
Jan 26, 2008
2,274
1,277
Poznan, Poland

iMattux

macrumors member
Oct 6, 2015
94
24
Well folks, it's been very educational participating in this thread and getting El Capitan running on my 1,1. I'm a little sad to say that I'm moving to a pristine 2009 4,1. Of course, I also bought a W3690 processor for it and will be doing surgery in just a few days, so I'll certainly still be around the forums, I'll just be involved in different threads.

My 1,1->2,1 is available if anyone is interested. It's up on eBay atm but I'd be happier if someone from this pool of great people wanted it so that it can continue to run at it's full potential. PM me for all the details and/or to make me an offer. Specs are below. I upgraded the DVD burner to a brand-new LG just about a month ago and the only thing wrong is that the top front USB port is picky about what devices it likes to see. Sometimes fine, sometimes not; depending on the device and the phase of the moon or some other factor that I cannot track down. So let's just agree that it has 4 USB ports and it's otherwise about as close to perfect as 10 yr. old box can be. I'd give the case a 9/10 - very few minor nicks, no scratches or dents anywhere. Original box, wireless KB & mouse included.

Huge thanks to Pike, rthjpm, Peter Holbrooke, MacVidCards/Rominator, MikeBoss, Splifinagate, 666Sheep and everyone else who participated and helped and used their brains to help all of us.

Cheers,

Matt
 

sOwL

macrumors 6502
Sep 25, 2007
490
6
Nerd Cave
What if I one wants to upgrade from an older version of OSX? Would setting up the bootloader and then booting the 10.11 installer be all that's needed?
 

sOwL

macrumors 6502
Sep 25, 2007
490
6
Nerd Cave

Hey thanks for your reply.

Yeah, sorry for not being clear. I meant install using a pikified volume. I've been reading everything, I got one question:

Do I still need the Boot64 if I use the latest version of pikify? It's not too clear, one place says it's now done automatically, while the other just says to skip the first 4 steps.

Meh, one more question: Is it ok if I use a 10.11.3 dmg?
 

sOwL

macrumors 6502
Sep 25, 2007
490
6
Nerd Cave
Well, I'm stuck. I keep getting this error:

A problem occurred when creating the install media with Apple's createinstallmedia tool
== The most common issue is that the installer volume could not be unmounted because some other process is using it
== Close all other windows (especially terminal windows) and try again


No matter how many volumes I try, keep getting the same. I tried a USB stick, an external volume with a freshly created partition and an internal drive that I just partitioned to get an extra volume. Nothing works :'(
 

iMattux

macrumors member
Oct 6, 2015
94
24
Well, I'm stuck. I keep getting this error:

A problem occurred when creating the install media with Apple's createinstallmedia tool
== The most common issue is that the installer volume could not be unmounted because some other process is using it
== Close all other windows (especially terminal windows) and try again


No matter how many volumes I try, keep getting the same. I tried a USB stick, an external volume with a freshly created partition and an internal drive that I just partitioned to get an extra volume. Nothing works :'(

Stick with me sOwl: You need to unmount the target drive - USB, external or internal partition. In terminal, type:
Code:
diskutil list
You'll get output similar to this:
Code:
/dev/disk0 (internal, physical):
  #:  TYPE NAME  SIZE  IDENTIFIER
  0:  GUID_partition_scheme  *128.0 GB  disk0
  1:  EFI EFI  209.7 MB  disk0s1
  2:  Apple_HFS TheFlash  127.0 GB  disk0s2
  3:  Apple_Boot Recovery HD  650.0 MB  disk0s3
/dev/disk1 (internal, physical):
  #:  TYPE NAME  SIZE  IDENTIFIER
  0:  GUID_partition_scheme  *1.0 TB  disk1
  1:  Microsoft Basic Data EFI  209.7 MB  disk1s1
  2:  Apple_HFS 250HFS  5.8 GB  disk1s2
  3:  Apple_HFS 240GB  244.0 GB  disk1s3
  4:  Apple_HFS  199.9 GB  disk1s4
  5:  Microsoft Basic Data 50FAT32  48.3 GB  disk1s5
  6:  Apple_HFS Photos  125.0 GB  disk1s6
  7:  Microsoft Basic Data MUSIC  125.0 GB  disk1s7
  8:  Apple_RAID  250.0 GB  disk1s8
  9:  Apple_Boot Boot OS X  134.2 MB  disk1s9
/dev/disk2 (internal, physical):
  #:  TYPE NAME  SIZE  IDENTIFIER
  0:  GUID_partition_scheme  *640.1 GB  disk2
  1:  EFI EFI  209.7 MB  disk2s1
  2:  Apple_HFS Yosemite  399.3 GB  disk2s2
  3:  Apple_Boot Recovery HD  650.0 MB  disk2s3
  4:  Microsoft Basic Data BOOTCAMP  240.0 GB  disk2s4
/dev/disk3 (internal, physical):
  #:  TYPE NAME  SIZE  IDENTIFIER
  0:  GUID_partition_scheme  *1.0 TB  disk3
  1:  EFI EFI  209.7 MB  disk3s1
  2:  Apple_HFS ElCapitan  597.0 GB  disk3s2
  3:  Apple_Boot Recovery HD  1.3 GB  disk3s3
  4:  Apple_HFS Yosemite  149.5 GB  disk3s4
  5:  Apple_Boot Recovery HD  650.0 MB  disk3s5
  6:  Apple_RAID  250.0 GB  disk3s6
  7:  Apple_Boot Boot OS X  134.2 MB  disk3s7
/dev/disk4 (internal, virtual):
  #:  TYPE NAME  SIZE  IDENTIFIER
  0:  Apple_HFS ElSpeedyG  +500.0 GB  disk4
/dev/disk5 (external, physical):
  #:  TYPE NAME  SIZE  IDENTIFIER
  0:  GUID_partition_scheme  *32.0 GB  disk5
  1:  EFI EFI  209.7 MB  disk5s1
  2:  Apple_HFS ASD OS 3S132  5.5 GB  disk5s2
  3:  Apple_HFS ASD EFI 3S132  5.5 GB  disk5s3
  4:  Apple_HFS Untitled  20.4 GB  disk5s4

I have a silly number of partitions, you will probably have fewer. What you need to identify is the /dev/diskx (device ID) of your target. If the drive is removable, it's very easy if you run diskutil list before and after inserting/connecting the drive.
The next command is:
Code:
diskutil unmountDisk /dev/diskx
where x is the device number. In my example above that would be /dev/disk5
Note: The partiton doesn't matter, diskutil will unmount the entire device and all partitions. Therefore, the target cannot be the same physical disk as the startup disk. It also cannot be the same physical disk from which you are running the script.
If you can unmount the target, the script will run just fine. If you can't, the script won't be able to unmount it either, so you'll have to figure out what is using the target drive.

Make it really simple and put the script on your main boot drive and use an empty GUID formatted USB drive.

Let us know how it goes.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sOwL

sOwL

macrumors 6502
Sep 25, 2007
490
6
Nerd Cave
Stick with me sOwl: You need to unmount the target drive - <snip>

Wow, what a detailed answer, thanks for your time and effort. Unfortunately I figured that the "
createpikeinstallmedia" command just doesn't work on 10.6, which I am running :(

I am currently trying to install 10.11 on VMware just to be able to create the installer, but guess what, this version can't run 10.11 and newer versions won't run on 10.6....

In any case, I did try to unmount the partitions I was testing with. They unmount just fine through the OS itself. Is there any other way to build the installer on 10.6? Otherwise I'll have to find a newer Mac somewhere :(
 

hkbladelawkhk

macrumors member
May 25, 2010
83
0
Hello ptmoy2,

The first 4 steps of post #1391 are already in place if you used pikify3.1v8. You will still need to complete the remaining steps.

BTW, the App Store update to 10.11.3 (from 10.11.2) does not replace the boot.efi files, therefore you can upgrade without Boot64.
[doublepost=1454148336][/doublepost]
Hello hkbladelawkhk,

Lots of users have reported random kernel panics (KPs) with El Capitan installs. In all cases that I know of, those users have reported that they still have original 512Mb memory sticks installed. We have advised everyone to buy new memory of at least 2Gb per sticks and replace their memory. Buy as much as you can afford.

In all known cases, once the 512Mb sticks have been removed and replaced, the system has stabilised.

Alternatively, using a pre-built disk image as your install method may also be contributing. I'm biased of course because I'm the author of the pikify3.1 installation method (page 56, post 1390).... You might consider reinstalling using the pikify3.1 method....

If you still get KPs, then it is almost certainly RAM that is your issue.


There are 24 gigs of ram in the one we're working on, so ram isn't the issue. I've reinstalled as well. The issue I have is getting the original installer to be able to use with the script. Since the MAS won't let me download the installer.
[doublepost=1454537937][/doublepost]
I tried this method. Unless I did something wrong or missed something, it still checks compatibility before allowing the installer to download. And you can't run anything from that PKG.
 

hwojtek

macrumors 68020
Jan 26, 2008
2,274
1,277
Poznan, Poland
I tried this method. Unless I did something wrong or missed something, it still checks compatibility before allowing the installer to download. And you can't run anything from that PKG.
You might be missing something, since I just clicked the link in Chrome (which can't and won't check anything Apple-related and the PKG started to download right away:

Screen Shot 2016-02-03 at 11.52.54 PM.png
I am on a metered connection, so I will not download the whole thing just to test it, but I assume it WILL work if you fool the system to use your local webserver as a download location - just turn off your regular network connection, so app store will not check for compatibility...
 

sOwL

macrumors 6502
Sep 25, 2007
490
6
Nerd Cave
Success!!

I had to use a Virtual machine to create the installer, but other than that everything worked perfectly, booted just fine into the disk and installation went fine!

Thanks for this guys, feels good to be back on with the times.

PS: I should add that I have 10gb of ram and not 12, but everything worked without problems.
 
  • Like
Reactions: hwojtek

haroldcnew

macrumors newbie
Jan 13, 2016
8
2
Hi guys,

Just sharing a bit of experience after a few weeks on my MacPro 2.1 / 10.11.3

I have one minor issue with with my wireless mouse and keyboard, I sometimes have take the stick out & in to make it work. I can't solve it but it's not a big deal.

I had one major issue that I solved.
To make it quick, I kept having KP's and auto restart by stressing Handbrake.
I then realized the fans weren't speeding up in relationship with the heat inside my macpro.
They didn't speeding up at all actually, constant speed around 600rpm.
I went all right with a fan control app.
 

Ned603

macrumors newbie
Jan 28, 2016
12
0
New Hampshire
Hi All. I am a newbie or is it noob? I have a 1,1 running Lion that is waiting on a graphics card upgrade. In the meantime I have been doing research. I have read all through the Yosemite thread and this one. My first question is where to start. I see that I need 12gb of RAM (I have 8) (three sticks of 2 and 2-512) so I'm thinking start with Yosemite to avoid all the ELC updates until I can get the added RAM (all 2mb sticks). Any suggestions?
 
Last edited:

sunnijim

macrumors newbie
Dec 22, 2015
10
0
UK
Hi All. I am a newbie or is it noob? I have a 1,1 running Lion that is waiting on a graphics card upgrade. In the meantime I have been doing research. I have read all through the Yosemite thread and this one. My first question is where to start. I see that I need 12gb of RAM (I have 8) (three sticks of 2 and 2-512) so I'm thinking start with Yosemite to avoid all the ELC updates until I can get the added RAM (all 2mb sticks). Any suggestions?



Hey Ned603, I'm new here too! Just been though the process with my old 2.1

the info you need is on page

2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

If like me you are not too familiar with using the terminal "rthpjm" kindly posted an idiots guide on this page,

2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

Yes you will need more than 12GB Ram, when i added an SSD drive a bit of dust got in the ram slot and i was temparelaly left with only 8GB and the install failed. removed the dust and with 14GB of Ram mounted the install worked fine.

Good luck.
 

Ned603

macrumors newbie
Jan 28, 2016
12
0
New Hampshire
Hey Ned603, I'm new here too! Just been though the process with my old 2.1

the info you need is on page

2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

If like me you are not too familiar with using the terminal "rthpjm" kindly posted an idiots guide on this page,

2006/2007 Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

Yes you will need more than 12GB Ram, when i added an SSD drive a bit of dust got in the ram slot and i was temparelaly left with only 8GB and the install failed. removed the dust and with 14GB of Ram mounted the install worked fine.

Good luck.
sunnijim
did you start with Yosemite and migrate to ELC or start right with ELC?
[doublepost=1454609804][/doublepost]sunnijim
did you start with Yosemite and migrate to ELC or start right with ELC?
 

sunnijim

macrumors newbie
Dec 22, 2015
10
0
UK
sunnijim
did you start with Yosemite and migrate to ELC or start right with ELC?

I was stuck on 10.8.6. So I got a new ssd hard drive and installed ELC on that then used time machine to copy my user info from my laptop that does already has ELC. But there are other ways to move you user info.

But i always had my old HD and OS just in case.
 

rthpjm

macrumors 6502a
Jan 31, 2011
720
309
U.K.
sunnijim
I followed the tutorial from rthpjm but at the first step when I tried to elevate my privilages by typing sudo -s it would not allow me to enter my password. Is that because i am logged in as the administrator and thus don't need to elevate my privileges?
Hello Ned603,

When you tried this, were you booted from your regular Mac OS X partition (you mention Yosemite)?
When you typed sudo -s and pressed return/enter, what did the next line show; Password: or a prompt ending ... root# ?

If you see the Password: prompt, please be aware that the Terminal will not give any visual feedback as you type in your password. Simply type carefully and press the Return or Enter key...

Also, please execute the command id (before and after the sudo command) and post the results please...

Can you also grab some screenshots of before and after (hint press the key combination Shift Cmd 4 also known as Shift Apple 4, the cursor should change to a crosshair. Start close to the top-left corner of the Terminal, press the left mouse button down and drag the bounding box over the Terminal, let go of the mouse button. You should find the resulting screenshot on your desktop).
 
Last edited:

sunnijim

macrumors newbie
Dec 22, 2015
10
0
UK
sunnijim
I followed the tutorial from rthpjm but at the first step when I tried to elevate my privilages by typing sudo -s it would not allow me to enter my password. Is that because i am logged in as the administrator and thus don't need to elevate my privileges?


Hey Ned

rthpjm is the expert! Best listen to him now.

good luck, It worked for me. :)
 

Ned603

macrumors newbie
Jan 28, 2016
12
0
New Hampshire
Hello Ned603,

When you tried this, were you booted from your regular Mac OS X partition (you mention Yosemite)?
When you typed sudo -s and pressed return/enter, what did the next line show; Password: or a prompt ending ... root# ?

If you see the Password: prompt, please be aware that the Terminal will not give any visual feedback as you type in your password. Simply type carefully and press the Return or Enter key...

Also, please execute the command id (before and after the sudo command) and post the results please...

Can you also grab some screenshots of before and after (hint press the key combination Shift Cmd 4 also known as Shift Apple 4, the cursor should change to a crosshair. Start close to the top-left corner of the Terminal, press the left mouse button down and drag the bounding box over the Terminal, let go of the mouse button. You should find the resulting screenshot on your desktop).
Yes I was on my unsupported Mac OS Lion and logged in as the administrator. The next line showed Password: and the gray block but I could not type anything.
I am away from the Mac until tomorrow so can't do anything on it now. I also don't have an upgraded GPU yet. Not until next week unfortunately.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.