Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fangio

macrumors 6502
Jan 25, 2011
375
473
10717
Works for me as well.


This is going to sound crazy but this works with OS X 10.10 DP1 for me when it will not work with 10.9.3. I am running 10.10 on my Mac Pro 1,1 using Chameleon.

Did you use this command to get Yosemite running? It might have helped
Code:
sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1"
reboot

I've rebuilt kext caches manually then, using this command
Code:
sudo kextcache -m /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/Extensions.mkext /System/Library/Extensions
reboot

Thats how I also got Trim Enabler to work.
 
Last edited:

Hennesie2000

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2007
1,514
42
Maryland
Works for me as well.
[url=http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj35/MacFangio/Apple%20Stuff/OSX%2010-10%20Yosemite/1010PCI-AudioControllerszlig_zps4dbb9d9a.png]Image[/URL]
[url=http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/jj35/MacFangio/Apple%20Stuff/OSX%2010-10%20Yosemite/1010AudioOutputPrefs_zpsc2e6d957.png]Image[/URL]


Did you use this command to get Yosemite running? It might have helped
Code:
sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1"
reboot

I've rebuilt kext caches manually then, using this command
Code:
sudo kextcache -m /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/Extensions.mkext /System/Library/Extensions
reboot

Thats how I also got Trim Enabler to work.

Yes I am using that flag with a modified version of Chameleon for 10.10. Any idea if if it might make a difference for my 10.9.3 install? I cannot get HDMI audio to work at all but it works fine with 10.9.0-10.9.2.

Update:
It seems to work sometimes and then disappear later if I rebuild my kernel extension cache. I am using version 1.1 of the kext that was given to me for testing. I am no longer using the kernel-dev-mode flag as chameleon has been updated and doesn't need it anymore.
 
Last edited:

AMGCLK65

macrumors member
Jul 21, 2010
87
4
Hello..

Im pulling my hair out trying to get hdmi audio out of r9 270x with dsdt edits.
Will this work with hackintosh 3.1 Mac Pro ?
 

Fangio

macrumors 6502
Jan 25, 2011
375
473
10717
Went ahead and tested a bit more. cMP 4,1 > 5,1 & flashed 280X

Summary, to clarify:

HDMIAudio 1.0 and 10.9.4 / 13E16 = √
HDMIAudio 1.0 and 10.10 / DP1 = √ (requires kext-dev-mode=1 flag)
HDMIAudio v1.1 and 10.10 / DP1 = √ (does not require kext-dev-mode flag anymore)

System identifies v1.1 as nvaudio, and Console reports this:
Code:
kext com.exvision.nvaudio  100009000 is in exception list, allowing to load

Screenshots in #126 above show v1.1 installed. It was given to me by andrejkw for testing.

In System Report > PCI, v1.1 is properly displayed as Audio Controller, not with the personality name (ATY,HamachiParent) anymore. This applies to 10.10 and 10.9.x.

Update:
HDMIAudio v1.1 and 10.10 / DP2 = √
 

Attachments

  • 13B16 HDMIAudio v1.1.png
    13B16 HDMIAudio v1.1.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 805
Last edited:

Hennesie2000

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2007
1,514
42
Maryland
Went ahead and tested a bit more. cMP 4,1 > 5,1 & flashed 280X

Summary, to clarify:

HDMIAudio 1.0 and 10.9.4 / 13E16 = √
HDMIAudio 1.0 and 10.10 / DP1 = √ (requires kext-dev-mode=1 flag)
HDMIAudio v1.1 and 10.10 / DP1 = √ (does not require kext-dev-mode flag anymore)

System identifies v1.1 as nvaudio, and Console reports this:
Code:
kext com.exvision.nvaudio  100009000 is in exception list, allowing to load

Screenshots in #126 above show v1.1 installed. It was given to me by andrejkw for testing.

In System Report > PCI, v1.1 is properly displayed as Audio Controller, not with the personality name (ATY,HamachiParent) anymore. This applies to 10.10 and 10.9.x.

Update:
HDMIAudio v1.1 and 10.10 / DP2 = √


It is not working for me with 10.10 DP2 and only worked with DP1 using the kext_dev_mode=1 kernel flag.

Here is my sudo kextutil output:
Code:
sudo kextutil /System/Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext
Diagnostics for /System/Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext:
Code Signing Failure: not code signed
ERROR: invalid signature for com.exvision.hdmiaudio, will not load

In contrast here is the result of another 3rd party kext:
Code:
sudo kextutil /System/Library/Extensions/CyborgRAT.kext
Diagnostics for /System/Library/Extensions/CyborgRAT.kext:
Code Signing Failure: code signature is invalid
kext com.madcatz.driver.CyborgRAT  162009000 is in exception list, allowing to load
kext com.madcatz.driver.CyborgRAT  162009000 is in exception list, allowing to load

Update:
I noticed that you are getting "com.exvision.nvaudio" in terminal but the HDMIAudio.kext is actually "com.exvision.hdmiaudio" which is not in the exceptions list. The kext used to be named nvaudio before AMD support was introduced. I can get the results you got with yours if I modify the HDMIAudio.kext info.plist file and change the package identifier to "com.exvision.nvaudio" but it still is not working on 10.9.3.

After modifying the info.plist file for the 1.1 version of HDMIAudio I get:
Code:
Diagnostics for /System/Library/Extensions/HDMIAudio.kext:
Code Signing Failure: not code signed
kext com.exvision.nvaudio  100009000 is in exception list, allowing to load

But, it is still not working in 10.9.3.

Update #2:
Modifying the info.plist for the 1.0 version of the kext and then replacing the info.plist in the 1.1 version of the kext with the modified one from 1.0 DID make HDMIAudio work in 10.10 DP2 without kext_dev_mode=1. I used the info.plist from the 1.0 version because there is an invalid signature error with the 1.1 plist.
 
Last edited:

Fangio

macrumors 6502
Jan 25, 2011
375
473
10717
[...] I noticed that you are getting "com.exvision.nvaudio" in terminal but the HDMIAudio.kext is actually "com.exvision.hdmiaudio" which is not in the exceptions list. The kext used to be named nvaudio before AMD support was introduced.
I knew this beforehand since andrejkw told me that. It's called workaround or if you prefer, beta. And this is why it's not released here yet.
[...] Modifying the info.plist for the 1.0 version of the kext and then replacing the info.plist in the 1.1 version of the kext with the modified one from 1.0 ... etcetc

See, the author is working on it, and I'm pretty confident that he told you that too. He is currently in the process of getting a Developer ID certificate which may take a while. Until then you were given, and can use this experimental version of HDMIAudio. It identifies itself as the original NVAudio extension, which should allow it to load. How about a bit patience until he comes up with a finalized 1.1 version.
 
Last edited:

Hennesie2000

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2007
1,514
42
Maryland
I knew this beforehand since andrejkw told me that. It's called workaround or if you prefer, beta. And this is why it's not released here yet.


See, the author is working on it, and I'm pretty confident that he told you that too. He is currently in the process of getting a Developer ID certificate which may take a while. Until then you were given, and can use this experimental version of HDMIAudio. It identifies itself as the original NVAudio extension, which should allow it to load. How about a bit patience until he comes up with a finalized 1.1 version.

The 1.1 version that I was given did not identify itself as nvaudio. The info.plist package identifiers said hdmiaudio. We very well could have two different versions of the 1.1 kext. I have patience and I am simply reporting what I have tried with the 1.0 and 1.1 packages. Neither were working in 10.9.3 or 10.10 for me but I at least got 10.10 working fine.
 
Last edited:

xbvis

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2014
21
1
Hello
I'm xavier
Quadro 4000 to my Mac Logiciel OS X 10.9.3 (13D65)
Processeur 2 x 2,93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Mémoire 32 Go 1066 MHz DDR3
Graphisme NVIDIA Quadro 4000 2048 Mo

I can't get the HDMI audio to even show up in the System Preferences with this card.

Thanks for any help you can offer!




NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Jeu de composants*: NVIDIA Quadro 4000
Type*: Processeur graphique (GPU)
Bus*: PCIe
Logement*: Slot-1
Longueur de la voie PCIe*: x16
VRAM (totale)*: 2048 Mo
Fournisseur*: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
Révision de la ROM*: 3598
Moniteurs*:

Cintiq 24HD*:
Résolution*: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Profondeur de pixels*: Couleurs 32 bits (ARGB8888)
Numéro de série du moniteur*: 2ABQ000059
Moniteur principal*: Oui
Miroir*: Désactivé
Connecté*: Oui
Rotation*: Géré

DENON-AVAMP*:
Résolution*: 1920*x*1080 @*60*Hz (1080i)
Profondeur de pixels*: Couleurs 32 bits (ARGB8888)
Miroir*: Désactivé
Connecté*: Oui
Rotation*: Géré
Entrelacé*: Oui
Télévision*: Ou
 

Hennesie2000

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2007
1,514
42
Maryland
Hello
I'm xavier
Quadro 4000 to my Mac Logiciel OS X 10.9.3 (13D65)
Processeur 2 x 2,93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Mémoire 32 Go 1066 MHz DDR3
Graphisme NVIDIA Quadro 4000 2048 Mo

I can't get the HDMI audio to even show up in the System Preferences with this card.

Thanks for any help you can offer!




NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Jeu de composants*: NVIDIA Quadro 4000
Type*: Processeur graphique (GPU)
Bus*: PCIe
Logement*: Slot-1
Longueur de la voie PCIe*: x16
VRAM (totale)*: 2048 Mo
Fournisseur*: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
Révision de la ROM*: 3598
Moniteurs*:

Cintiq 24HD*:
Résolution*: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
Profondeur de pixels*: Couleurs 32 bits (ARGB8888)
Numéro de série du moniteur*: 2ABQ000059
Moniteur principal*: Oui
Miroir*: Désactivé
Connecté*: Oui
Rotation*: Géré

DENON-AVAMP*:
Résolution*: 1920*x*1080 @*60*Hz (1080i)
Profondeur de pixels*: Couleurs 32 bits (ARGB8888)
Miroir*: Désactivé
Connecté*: Oui
Rotation*: Géré
Entrelacé*: Oui
Télévision*: Ou

There currently seems to be an issue with Nvidia cards and 10.9.3 that the developer has not worked out yet. HDMI audio does work with 10.10 DP2 though and it may work with 10.9.4 which will be released soon.
 

GreenDolphin

macrumors newbie
Jul 11, 2013
5
0
Rep

andrejkw,
Can you repost the .dmg ? The download link in the 1st post of the thread isn't working for me.

Incidentally, my setup is a mid-2012 MBP connected (via mDP-to-HDMI adapter) to the HDMI input of a Harman Kardon receiver, connected in turn to a video-only Epson projector.

My problem is that as long as the projector is turned off, the MBP sees the HDMI audio interface and transmits sound to the receiver fine, including 5.1 audio. However as soon as the projector is turned on, the HDMI audio option disappears from Sound Prefs, Audio MIDI Setup, VLC etc., and the only sound output device is the MBPs built-in speakers... makes the whole 5.1 reciever setup useless.

This is obviously some kind of EDID issue, and I'm suspecting something non-standard in the receiver, but since replacing the MBP with a Dell laptop w/HDMI port works fine, Harman Kardon tech support doesn't think it's their problem. I've spent many hours poring over EDID dumps, and am still not sure what I'm seeing, so hope I can use the HDMIaudio kext to be as permissive as the Dell.
 

GreenDolphin

macrumors newbie
Jul 11, 2013
5
0
Whoops..

Never mind, missed that Hennesie2000 reposted the extension on the previous page of the thread (thanks!).

So I gave it a try, but unfortunately, it doesn't solve my problem... Looks like I'll be stuck with the laptop speakers for now, and may eventually get a streamer to hopefully circumvent the issue.
 

Hennesie2000

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2007
1,514
42
Maryland
andrejkw,
Can you repost the .dmg ? The download link in the 1st post of the thread isn't working for me.

Incidentally, my setup is a mid-2012 MBP connected (via mDP-to-HDMI adapter) to the HDMI input of a Harman Kardon receiver, connected in turn to a video-only Epson projector.

My problem is that as long as the projector is turned off, the MBP sees the HDMI audio interface and transmits sound to the receiver fine, including 5.1 audio. However as soon as the projector is turned on, the HDMI audio option disappears from Sound Prefs, Audio MIDI Setup, VLC etc., and the only sound output device is the MBPs built-in speakers... makes the whole 5.1 reciever setup useless.

This is obviously some kind of EDID issue, and I'm suspecting something non-standard in the receiver, but since replacing the MBP with a Dell laptop w/HDMI port works fine, Harman Kardon tech support doesn't think it's their problem. I've spent many hours poring over EDID dumps, and am still not sure what I'm seeing, so hope I can use the HDMIaudio kext to be as permissive as the Dell.

Just a hunch, is the receiver setup to "pass-thru" the audio and video to the projector?
 

xbvis

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2014
21
1
There currently seems to be an issue with Nvidia cards and 10.9.3 that the developer has not worked out yet. HDMI audio does work with 10.10 DP2 though and it may work with 10.9.4 which will be released soon.

with The download link in the 1st post of the thread working for me. Song :
OSX 10.9.4

[Commande introuvable*: ./install.sh]
[Impossible de créer un nouveau processus et d’ouvrir un pseudo-tty.]
 

xbvis

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2014
21
1
PHP:
What gpu?

Nom du modèle : Mac Pro
Identifiant du modèle : MacPro5,1
Nom du processeur : 6-Core Intel Xeon
Vitesse du processeur : 2,93 GHz
Nombre de processeurs : 2
Nombre total de cœurs : 12
Cache de niveau 2 (par cœur) : 256 Ko
Cache de niveau 3 (par processeur) : 12 Mo
Mémoire : 32 Go
Vitesse d’interconnexion du processeur : 6.4 GT/s
Version de la ROM de démarrage : MP51.007F.B03
Version SMC (système) : 1.39f11
Version SMC (support pour processeur) : 1.39f11
 

h9826790

macrumors P6
Apr 3, 2014
16,656
8,587
Hong Kong
PHP:

Nom du modèle : Mac Pro
Identifiant du modèle : MacPro5,1
Nom du processeur : 6-Core Intel Xeon
Vitesse du processeur : 2,93 GHz
...

This is just the general hardware info, GPU is something like this in the Graphics/Display section.

AMD Radeon HD 7950:

Chipset Model: AMD Radeon HD 7950
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 3072 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x679a
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-E2080C-101
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.624
 

xbvis

macrumors newbie
Jun 24, 2014
21
1
This is just the general hardware info, GPU is something like this in the Graphics/Display section.

AMD Radeon HD 7950:

Chipset Model: AMD Radeon HD 7950
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
Slot: Slot-1
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 3072 MB
Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
Device ID: 0x679a
Revision ID: 0x0000
ROM Revision: 113-E2080C-101
EFI Driver Version: 01.00.624

yes
Everything is already as detailed above ......NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:
""...
NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Jeu de composants*: NVIDIA Quadro 4000
Type*: Processeur graphique (GPU)
Bus*: PCIe
Logement*: Slot-1
Longueur de la voie PCIe*: x16
VRAM (totale)*: 2048 Mo
Fournisseur*: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
Révision de la ROM*: 3598...."


NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Nom*: NVDA,Display-B
Type*: Contrôleur du moniteur
Gestionnaire installé*: Oui
MSI*: Oui
Bus*: PCI
Logement*: Slot-1
Identifiant du fournisseur*: 0x10de
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
Identifiant du fournisseur du sous-système*: 0x10de
Identifiant du sous-système*: 0x0010
Révision de la ROM*: 3598
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
Largeur du câble*: x16
Vitesse de la liaison*: 5.0 GT/s

NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Nom*: pci10de,be5
Type*: NVDA,Parent
Gestionnaire installé*: Non
MSI*: Non
Bus*: PCI
Logement*: Slot-1
Identifiant du fournisseur*: 0x10de
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x0be5
Identifiant du fournisseur du sous-système*: 0x10de
Identifiant du sous-système*: 0x0875
Révision de la ROM*: 3598
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a1
Largeur du câble*: x16
Vitesse de la liaison*: 5.0 GT/s
 
Last edited:

Hennesie2000

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2007
1,514
42
Maryland
yes
Everything is already as detailed above ......NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:
""...
NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Jeu de composants*: NVIDIA Quadro 4000
Type*: Processeur graphique (GPU)
Bus*: PCIe
Logement*: Slot-1
Longueur de la voie PCIe*: x16
VRAM (totale)*: 2048 Mo
Fournisseur*: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
Révision de la ROM*: 3598...."


NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Nom*: NVDA,Display-B
Type*: Contrôleur du moniteur
Gestionnaire installé*: Oui
MSI*: Oui
Bus*: PCI
Logement*: Slot-1
Identifiant du fournisseur*: 0x10de
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x06dd
Identifiant du fournisseur du sous-système*: 0x10de
Identifiant du sous-système*: 0x0010
Révision de la ROM*: 3598
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a3
Largeur du câble*: x16
Vitesse de la liaison*: 5.0 GT/s

NVIDIA Quadro 4000*:

Nom*: pci10de,be5
Type*: NVDA,Parent
Gestionnaire installé*: Non
MSI*: Non
Bus*: PCI
Logement*: Slot-1
Identifiant du fournisseur*: 0x10de
Identifiant du périphérique*: 0x0be5
Identifiant du fournisseur du sous-système*: 0x10de
Identifiant du sous-système*: 0x0875
Révision de la ROM*: 3598
Identifiant de révision*: 0x00a1
Largeur du câble*: x16
Vitesse de la liaison*: 5.0 GT/s

I assume you are running audio over display port to hdmi?
 

Hennesie2000

macrumors 68000
Sep 29, 2007
1,514
42
Maryland
I would like running audio over display port to hdmi, but:
There is no driver for NVidia HDMI AUDIO MAC only CUDA video

Then what are you doing on this thread? This thread is ALL about installing a kernel extension to use audio over HDMI on Mac.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.